Davis Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

By April 30, 2014 No Comments

COURTESY: Arkansas State

JONESBORO, Ark. (4/29/14) – Former Arkansas State kicker Brian Davis became the Red Wolves’ newest NFF Hampshire Honor Society member Tuesday, joining the 2014 inductees who all maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college football careers.

Davis, a 2014 Capital One First Team Academic All-America selection, was among a record 838 players from 267 schools announced as members today by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF).  The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who, in addition to maintaining a 3.2 cumulative GPA, were either a starter or significant substitution on their team.

The Red Wolves have now seen 12 players named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society all-time as Davis joined former selections Ryan Aplin (2013), Nathan Herrold (2013), Taylor Stockemer (2013), Neely Sullivent (2013), Tom Castilaw (2012), Derek Lawson (2012), Jeff Blake (2011), Adam Gaston (2011), Alex Carrington (2010), Taylor Clements (2010) and Matt Reibe (2008).

Davis was a two-time All-Sun Belt Conference selection who helped lead the Red Wolves to the last three league championships and back-to-back victories in the GoDaddy Bowl.  Named a Lou Groza Award semifinalist as both a junior and senior, he ended his four-year career as the Sun Belt Conference’s all-time leader in points scored.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF’s current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization’s leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 4,927 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.

Leave a Reply