Rocky Hayes & Sterling Young Make JIM THORPE AWARD 2014 WATCH LIST

By July 11, 2014 No Comments



Oklahoma City—The Jim Thorpe Award 2014 watch list announced today includes 39 of the nation’s best defensive backs, representing ten conferences.

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe.  Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back.  In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compile a list of 30-50 players.  The list is not final, and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.  The Thorpe Award Winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 11, 2014 on ESPN.

The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 3, 2015 in Oklahoma City, OK.

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2014 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 7:  Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 8:   Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 9:  Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 10:  Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 14: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 15:  Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 16: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 17: Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 18: Walter Camp Award

2014 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List

Kevin Byard, Middle Tenn, Jr.

Bryce Callahan, Rice, Sr.

Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern, Sr.

Sam Carter, TCU, Sr.

Jeremy Cash, Duke, Jr.

Donald Celiscar, Western Michigan, Sr.

Landon Collins, Alabama, Jr.

Blake Countess, Michigan, Jr.

Su’a Cravens, USC, So.

Donte Deayon, Boise State, Jr.

Quandre Diggs, Texas, Sr.

Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, Jr.

Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, Sr.

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, Sr.

Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, So.

Clayton Geathers, UCF, Sr.

Jacoby Glenn, UCF, So.

Vernon Hargreaves, Florida, So.

Anthony Harris, Virginia, Sr.

Rocky Hayes, Arkansas State, Jr

Jeremy Ioane, Boise State, Sr.

Jordan Lucas, Penn State, Jr.

Marcus Peters, Washington, Jr.

Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, Sr.

Jalen Ramsey, Florida State, So.

Jordan Richards, Stanford, Sr.

Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, So.

Derron Smith, Fresno State, Sr.

D’Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Sr.

Trevon Stewart, Houston, Jr.

Brian Suite, Utah State, Sr.

Cam Thomas, WKU, Sr.

Triston Wade, UTSA, Sr.

Ryland Ward, Bowling Green, Jr.

Trae Waynes, Michigan State, Jr.

Tre’Davious White, LSU, So.

J.J. Whittaker, San Diego State, Sr.

PJ Williams, Florida State, Jr.

Sterling Young, Arkansas State, Sr.

Leave a Reply