A-State Bowling Arrives in Wickliffe, Ohio Tuesday

By April 9, 2014 No Comments

COURTESY: Arkansas State 

WICKLIFFE, Ohio (4/8/14) – The Arkansas State women’s bowling squad departed from Jonesboro Tuesday morning at 6 a.m. and arrived in Cleveland, Ohio around 2 p.m. (ET) as the Red Wolves are set to begin preparations for the NCAA Tournament April 10-12 in Wickliffe, Ohio.

After landing in Cleveland, A-State ate lunch before checking into the team hotel and relaxed for a couple of hours before heading to Progressive Field to watch the Cleveland Indians take on the San Diego Padres.

The team will practice Wednesday morning at Game of Wickliffe before participating in the annual NCAA Tournament Banquet, where the National Tenpin Coaches Association will announce the Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, and All-American teams.

The tournament begins Thursday, April 10 with two sections of seeding rounds.  Each team will bowl one, five-person game against the other seven teams in the field for a total of seven games.  Teams will then be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during seeding rounds.  The first section is scheduled to begin at 10:50 a.m. (CT), while the second section is set to start at 5:40 p.m. (CT).  Both qualifying rounds can be seen live on

Friday’s bracket play starts at 10:40 a.m. (CT) with teams competing in best-of-seven baker matches in a double elimination tournament.  In the baker format, each of the five team members in the lineup will bowl a complete frame in order until a complete 10-frame game is bowled.

Saturday’s action will start at 3:10 p.m. (CT) if it is necessary to determine the two teams that will bowl for the championship.  The championship will begin at 7:00 p.m. (CT) and will be televised on ESPNU live.  A tape delay broadcast of the championship final will air on ESPN Sunday, April 13 from 3-5 p.m. (CT).

Arkansas State is making its seventh straight appearance in the national tournament and the No. 1 ranked Red Wolves enter the NCAA Championship with a school record for regular season wins with 91.  Joining A-State in the NCAA Tournament are Central Missouri, Nebraska, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Fairleigh Dickinson, Vanderbilt, Sam Houston State, and Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Leave a Reply