A-State Selected to NCAA Women’s Bowling Field

By March 27, 2014 No Comments
COURTESY: Arkansas State

JONESBORO, Ark. (3/26/14) – The Arkansas State women’s bowling team, ranked first in the nation, was among the eight teams selected Wednesday afternoon to compete at this year’s NCAA Women’s Bowling Championship April 10-12 at Game of Wickliffe in Wickliffe, Ohio.

“It’s always an honor to be selected to the field of eight and be recognized as one of the top teams in the country,” A-State women’s bowling coach Justin Kostick said.  “We’ve been ranked first for a while now so we were pretty much a lock, which always makes it easier to enjoy the show.”

Joining Arkansas State in the field of eight teams vying for the national championship are Central Missouri, defending champion Nebraska, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Fairleigh Dickinson, Vanderbilt, Sam Houston State, and Wisconsin-Whitewater.

“All of these teams deserve to be here and it’s a wide open field with the bracket play,” Kostick added.  “Any team can win it all from this field, but I’m confident in our team.  We’re going to have a great week of practice next week and hopefully be fully prepared to bring home the championship.”

This is A-State’s seventh consecutive appearance in the national tournament and the Red Wolves finished with a record of 91-29, setting the school record for regular-season wins and tying the mark for overall wins.  Arkansas State won four tournaments this season and finished no lower than fourth in any of its nine competitions.

Competition begins with qualifying rounds Thursday, April 10, in which each team bowls one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven teams participating in the championship for a total of seven games. Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds.

On Friday, April 11, teams will then compete in best-of-seven-games Baker matches in a double elimination tournament. In the Baker format, each of the five team members, in order, bowls a complete frame until a complete (10-frame) game is bowled. A Baker match tied 3½ games to 3½ games after seven games will be decided by a tiebreaker using the Modified Baker format.

The championship finals will air on ESPNU at 8 p.m. ET April 12. A tape-delayed broadcast of the championship finals will air on ESPN from 4-6 p.m. ET April 13.

The Greater Cleveland Sports Commission and the Mid-American Conference (MAC) are hosting this year’s tournament.  Tickets can be purchased on prior to the championship.


Leave a Reply